The Salt Lake City Arts Council, founded in the late 1970s, was created to ensure that the community established a local arts organization to provide public programming and support for the arts.

Through City Arts Grants, we have developed a balance between producing programs and supporting other arts activities. LEARN MORE HERE


The mission of the Arts Council is to promote, present, and support artists, arts organizations, and arts activities in order to further the development of the arts community and to benefit the public by expanding awareness, access, and participation.


The Art Barn was built during the Great Depression with assistance from the City of Salt Lake, the federal Works Projects Administration, private contributors and the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Alta Rawlins Jensen was one of the visionaries who worked toward the building of a community arts center that was described in the Salt Lake Telegram as “A Greenwich Village for Salt Lake.” Ms. Jensen believed that despite desperate economic times, an art center could help to lift the spirit and rekindle the dreams of the community.

In March of 1931, the Salt Lake City Commission gave the Art Barn founding group permission to build in Reservoir Park. Designed by architect Taylor Woolley, a former associate of Frank Lloyd Wright, the Art Barn’s projected construction cost was $10,000. The groundbreaking took place in October, 1931, and the cornerstone was laid in December of the same year. Difficulties in raising the funds necessary to complete construction delayed the official opening until June 11, 1933. Governor Henry H. Blood and Mayor Louis Marcus addressed the crowd that filled the building and the lawn surrounding it. The Art Barn has been a significant community center for arts activities since that time.

The road that runs through Reservoir Park in front of the Art Barn, at the insistence of the founders, was named Finch Lane to honor the Commissioner of City Parks, Harry L. Finch. Commissioner Finch had been instrumental in securing the property from the City at a lease rate of $1 per year, and in obtaining the Federal funds to hire unemployed laborers for this public building project.

Now entering its eighth decade, this space has touched thousands of people, serving artists of all disciplines and those who experienced their work. Not only has the physical facility survived, with occasional renovations and additions, but it is still serving the public as its founders intended.



If you are interested in serving on the Arts Council Board or Art Design Board, submit an application through the Salt Lake City Board & Commissions website.

Visit the Utah Public Notice website for all Board Minutes & Agendas.


The Salt Lake City Arts Council Board (link to Salt Lake City Boards and Commissions page)

The Salt Lake City Arts Council Board advises the the Office of the Mayor, City Council and Salt Lake Arts Council, an allied but independent non-profit organization, on the arts and arts related activities throughout the City and region. It also manages a number of arts functions for the City.


Chair – Dave Mortenson (Council District 4)
Vice Chair – Leah Langan (Council District 3)
Treasurer – Matt Castillo (Council District 2)
Secretary – Andrea Ashdown (Council District 6)
Annie Dayton (Council District 1)
Jared Jones (Council District 7)
Susan Koles Rickman (Council District 3)
Larry Cohen (Council District 1)
Steve Barth (Council District 3)
Torle Nenbee (Council District 4)
Kathy Davis (Council District 6)
Erika Hill (Council District 7)
Sonali Loomba (Council District 5)
Nico Dicou (Council District 4)


The Salt Lake Art Design Board (link to Salt Lake City Boards and Commissions page)

The Salt Lake Art Design Board oversees the City’s public art program. As established by ordinance, the board designates certain funds for eligible construction projects to commission artwork. The Board also reviews and determines public art policy and is active in the artist selection process.


Justin Johnson (Chair, Council District 2)

Nancy Rivera (Vice Chair, Council District 3)

Aurelio Velazquez (Council District 2)

Larissa Trout (Council District 5)

Joe Jacoby (Council District 6)


Arts Council staff will be working remotely during this time.

We ask for your patience in communication while we navigate a new work environment, and email contact may be best.